REVIEWS

-Jeannie B.    11/2/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Ana R.    10/28/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Brianna G.    10/28/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Haydee H.    9/11/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Olivia L.    8/2/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Wayne O.    7/30/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Jeniffer G.    7/24/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Chelsea C.    7/22/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Denisse V.    7/19/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Erin K.    7/16/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Jacqui K.    6/20/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Aaron A.    5/23/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Michelle B.    5/11/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Peter D.    5/8/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Samantha E.    5/7/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Alex P.    5/1/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Samantha K.    4/28/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Aaron S.    4/19/2022

5 stars-06.png

We discovered this place toward the end of our vacation and it was so much fun we had to go 2 nights in a row!  

 

The atmosphere is casual and beachy, but right on a mildly hopping street.  The staff were all incredibly warm and welcoming and very helpful.  Though we love our oysters, we aren't really connoisseurs  who know what we like by name, so we asked the waiter to surprise us and boy did he, they were perfection!  

 

The drinks were on point as well - margaritas and the mojitos were both perfect.  I ordered these tomato oyster shooters that the women at the the table next to us were having, but my husband chickened out so I had to take one for the team and drink both of them.  The scallop skewer was amazing - I had to swipe a bite before the rest of my family devoured them. The mahi mahi in a bowl of flavorful salty broth with toast on the side was equally delicious.  

 

The only thing I would say is if you have your heart set on something specific on the website menu, you might be disappointed because there is a blackboard of current items that keep getting crossed off - so go with an open mind, you won't regret it.  Our 13 year old had his heart set on clams on the half shell, but they were all out and he was disappointed.  Sadly (for us), he then decided he liked oysters and chowed down on them instead.  

 

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxed, cool hangout for some cocktails, a huge variety of oysters and other snacks, and lots of friendly faces.  It's pricey, but it's vacation!  Will definitely be back!!

-Jill S.    4/18/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Fiona M.    4/10/2022

5 stars-06.png

-Erin P.    4/10/2022

5 stars-06.png

AMAZING !!! New to the Condado area.. walked by a few times.. decided to stop in for lunch.. WELL!!! We were PLEASANTLY SURPRISED! Delish.. had EVERYTHING on the menu & NOTHING disappointed!!! TRULY fabulous staff & fabulous food.

5 stars-06.png

-Lisa D.    4/9/2022

Nothing but praise for this tucked away gem on Magdalena Ave. A cosy rustic place serving probably the best fresh oysters in San Juan. Offers change daily according to availability. Simply superb quality, as are the heated clams and mussels. Highly recommended too, the fresh seafood salads and the ceviches. Great friendly service and some good wines. A must go place! We went for four consecutive days and just loved it. A whole new oyster experience if you come from central Europe.

-Christian H.    4/6/2022

5 stars-06.png

Incredibly nice staff, gave great recommendations for things to do around the island. Seafood is super fresh. Highly recommend!!

-Sam B.    3/22/2022

5 stars-06.png

Absolutely amazing. We were desperate to find a place to eat for dinner and literally stumbled into The Oyster Shack. Immediately we were welcomed with open arms and given a table for five inside. The servers did an amazing job and were very attentive, and the food was delicious. I highly recommend the Seafood Melody ceviche, the octopus was especially excellent.

-Ben W.    3/22/2022

5 stars-06.png

Coming from the Chesapeake Bay, we are ... politely ... oyster snobs.   I regularly get oysters flown in from all over, and they're good and fresh.   I was not so sure about oysters in PR.  

These were great.  Fresh, cleanly shucked (a bit of shell here or there), and busting with great salty sweetness.    Definitely coming back.   

They were a bit low on varieties, only 4-5, but compared to places that have only one,  no shame.  

The pique sauce, though.  Oh my ... I'm not a spicy food fan.  This was delicious, and really works with the oysters.  Just do it.    

Briefly considered stealing the bottle,  then just bought two. :)

-Joshua W.    3/5/2022

5 stars-06.png

We get oysters a lot and my boyfriend is pretty picky but these oysters were unexpectedly amazing. We didn’t see the reviews ahead but just walked by it. Great location and atmosphere, but more importantly the food was 10/10 wonderful and the service was great. Our server was super fun and friendly.

-Emily S.    3/4/2022

5 stars-06.png

This place is the bomb! We had the steamed little neck clams (which were impressively big), a dozen premium oysters, and the shrimp. All of the food was fantastic, so fresh and the butter sauce is so delicious. They make the mojitos strong too!! We will be back.

-Kyle G.    3/4/2022

5 stars-06.png

I never leave reviews but for here I need to. I've been here a couple times and it's amazing! They bring in fresh oysters from several different places and are more than happy to tell you all about the differences and what to try! Will always be my go-to oyster place in PR!

-Kevin B.    3/2/2022

5 stars-06.png

Great place!  Best Fresh Oysters in town for sure.  Jaime is an awesome host and wants to give you the best experience possible. After you get your oysters (or other fresh seafood), jump on some of the eBikes they have and move around to Old San Juan to Isla Verde and Condado for a quick spin.

-Manuel M.    2/29/2022

5 stars-06.png

Absolutely delicious and FRESH seafood. We got the steamed little necks, oysters and the garlic shrimp. All amazing! Will be back.

-Kayla H.    2/24/2022

5 stars-06.png

A little gem of a place in San Juan! They have fantastic oysters from all over and the owner knows his oysters. The mahi-mahi ceviche was excellent. I would eat here again in a heart beat.

-Farah F.    2/26/2022

5 stars-06.png

Such a cool place!!! Variety of oysters and the ceviche was delicious. We also loved the clams!! Plus good music and it’s fun to people watch. Definitely will go back.

-Silvia B.    2/8/2022

5 stars-06.png

This place was great! We were somewhat hungry, but mostly thirsty and tired. My husband

wanted ceviche and oysters. I wanted a piña colada and some soup. The lady from this place allowed us to sit at one of the tables, order oysters and ceviche, and have a piña colada and chicken soup brought over from Ruben's next door. She even gave me a great recommendation and a recommendation to visit the T-Mobile center! All in all, a wonderful experience, and it was amazing to experience the hospitality that this restaurant had for visitors. The food was great- oysters were super fresh and ceviche was delicious. Would definitely visit again! 

-Zhén Tao    2/8/2022

5 stars-06.png

The restaurant had beautiful food and even more beautiful service. The mussels were to die for and the oysters were the best. Even better than the food, the family and the hospitality is wholesome. I loved spending my night at this restaurant!! Highly, highly recommend!

-Kaley D.    2/6/2022

5 stars-06.png

Awesomeness. Fresh oysters and ceviche. Jaime was amazing. Great host. We had a great time! We will return to enjoy their rare oyster selection.

-Dalymar B.    1/16/2022

5 stars-06.png

Such a sweet surprise finding this intimate place. I was craving oysters and this spot, HIT THE SPOT. It's a fairly new business, so indoor seating wasn't available due to construction but there were a few seats outside where my husband and I could get cozy. We ordered the blue point oysters and the shrimp ceviche TWICE. My husband absolutely hates tomatoes and this is the first time I've ever seen him make an exception for tomatoes. I would've ordered a third ceviche if he didn't stop me. If this place could get my husband to eat a food he absolutely abhors, then it's a winner in my book. The owner seems to run the business with his mother, who greeted us and made sure we enjoyed our meal. She was very sweet. The owner was very friendly as well and seemed passionate about his new business opening.

I hope that this business thrives! Delicious oysters and friendly service.

-Nephthalie E. 11/18/2021

5 stars-06.png

We just love this place! The waiter was insanely intuitive down to warning us exactly when the rain would start to suggesting wine and just about everything else that made our experience awesome! The owner also took the time to come over and talk about the salmon sashimi that we ordered. The atmosphere is amazing, the people here are amazing. Seriously can't say enough nice things about this place. I drove by I'd say every day for two months on my way to work and kept saying I needed to stop by. So glad I did!

-Jen P.    12/10/2021

5 stars-06.png

If you're thinking of stopping in, DO IT!!! Family ran business that has the freshest seafood I've ever tried. They have a small menu because they're serving you the highest quality of ingredients; we tried each of the oysters, mahi mahi ceviche with crispy taro chips, and haaaad to try some clams when we saw the neighboring table had some delivered. I genuinely appreciated the craftsmanship of everything in this restaurant... the tables, tile work, cement counter, oyster display, and one of a kind lighting fixture inside. Can't wait till the inside opens! If you want to impress your date or spoil yourself, you've got to go to the oyster shack...Buen Provecho!!!

-Meg C.    11/18/2021

5 stars-06.png

Can't rave enough about The Oyster Shack! If you're in San Juah and see a line out the door with an fresh oyster sign, you've found the right place. 

As for what to order? Can't really go wrong. For oyster suggestions, I would highly recommend the Malpeque and Duxbury oysters because they outshine all the other selections by a mile. Mild, not briny, smooth, and not too overbearing!
I had the Mahi mahi cebiche and it was very good.  Ask for the mofongo cones which are unique and very gooood.

The service is good to be in pandemic times. 

The Oyster Shack... worth the wait and every penny. Enjoy!

-Aldo C.    10/22/2021

5 stars-06.png